The discussion board has the answers to all life's questions. Get advice on how to get a job, where to work, how your salary matches up and where to go after hours.

Find a Job

With the market picking up, don't miss out on Job Search for all the best vacancies from the World's leading law firms.

Top Stories 2017

Send Us Your News
Exclusive: Fraudsters rip off Burges Salmon website and rename its partners
08 April 2016
Rate it

Fraudsters have ripped off Burges Salmon's website and even renamed some of its partners as part of a scam.

The con artists replicated large chunks of Burges Salmon's website and rebranded the firm as 'Owen & Harvey Solicitors'.



In an attempt to give the impression that Owen & Harvey is run by competent lawyers and not a fraudster in Abuja, the scammers also lifted the profiles of three Burges Salmon partners and a senior associate. Two of them have even been promoted to name partners, although not actually with their own names.


Do not trust these men


'Browne & Soar' would have been a more appropriate name

The website for Owen & Harvey, which has no genuine connection to joint RollOnFriday Firm of the Year 2016 winner Burges Salmon, seems to have been created to convince people who receive scam emails from fake lawyers that they are dealing with a genuine firm. RollOnFriday investigators, masquerading as prospective client 'Chris Akabusi', tried to make contact with 'James Harvey', but did not receive a response.

A spokesman for the SRA told RollOnFriday that the growing instances of fake sites are an area of "great concern" but there was very little it could do besides issuing scam alerts. "If we can identify the website host", he said, "we contact them to point out that they are providing a service for con artists. This can lead to them taking the site down". Often, however, the scammers are based overseas, "which makes it even more difficult to do anything, both for us and the police".

A spokesman for Burges Salmon told RollOnFriday that as soon as the firm discovered the fake site it asked the relevant ISP and website hosts to take it down. “We’re confident that will happen over the next few days", he said, but added, "We’re pretty irritated by this and hope that no-one is taken in by the fake site. Hopefully anybody visiting it will quickly realise that it’s bogus”. The firm's hopes on both fronts may be optimistic, given that the Owen & Harvey website looks pretty convincing and at least one scam site which the SRA flagged in February is still operating.


Feel free to enter your comments on the news story below, subject to our terms and conditions. Please note that comments are subject to moderation and so will not appear immediately.

Please keep it nice. Thanks.

08/04/2016 09:27
Rate it
Report as offensive
Owen and Harvey still seem to be operating the site with the copied photos etc

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.

Registrar: ENOM, INC.
Sponsoring Registrar IANA ID: 48
Whois Server: whois.enom.com
Referral URL: http://www.enom.com
Status: clientTransferProhibited https://www.icann.org/epp#clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 27-jan-2016
Creation Date: 27-jan-2016
Expiration Date: 27-jan-2017

>>> Last update of whois database: Fri, 08 Apr 2016 08:24:38 GMT <<<

Owenandharvey Status Report
Owen & Harvey Solicitors UK law firm | Solicitors in Bristol and London
Website is Online when last checked on 31 January 2016
This report has been viewed 12 times since it was first created on 31 January 2016

Owenandharvey.com is a 2 months old domain, situated in United States. The domain is linked to the IP address which is provided by the hosting company Nodes Direct.

It was registered by OWEN HARVEY LLP , who can be reached at . Registration details show that it was registered on 27 Jan 2016 through eNom and will expire on 27 Jan 2017.

The site returns a status code of 200. It is being generated using Percussion CM System. The site is being served through Apache.

anonymous user
08/04/2016 09:46
Rate it
Report as offensive
There is a partner with the surname Owen and one with the surname Harvey - why didn't they use them?
anonymous user
08/04/2016 11:22
Rate it
Report as offensive
They lost credibility when it was noted that they are endorsed by ROF:

anonymous user
13/04/2016 15:42
Rate it
Report as offensive
Well, the SRA is really cracking down on these scammers threatening professional reputations ... I'm sure every prospective client checks each SRA scam alert before engaging solicitors ... top marks again, SRA!